Skip to main content

Warehouses and logistics solar projects in Ireland

6 solar installations at Irish warehouses and distribution centres are listed here with size, installer and source. The largest is Sam Dennigan & Co, Oldtown at 1.5 MW. The planning register holds a further 24 applications.

Prices last reviewed October 2026

Which warehouses and distribution centres have installed solar?

SiteCountySizeInstallerSource
Sam Dennigan & Co, Oldtown2020Dublin1.5 MWEnerpowerIrish Farmers Journal
Lyonara Cold Stores, PortlaoiseplannedLaois950 kWEnerpowerLeinster Express
NVD, BaldonnelDublin257 kWAlternative Energy Ireland (AEI)Alternative Energy Ireland
Peter Hurley Warehousing, BallinasloeGalway37 kWElectric SkylineElectric Skyline
Hyland Shipping35 kWUrbanVoltUrbanVolt
Lidl distribution centre, Newbridge2019Kildare4,364 panelsEnerpowerLeinster Leader

Why does solar suit warehouses and distribution centres?

Distribution centres have the biggest roofs in the country. Cold stores also have the load to use the power.

  • Sam Dennigan & Co, Oldtown: National distribution centre with 4,420 panels and 45 km of cabling; the largest rooftop array in Ireland when live in December 2020.
  • Lyonara Cold Stores, Portlaoise: Snippet-only: planning intention for a rooftop array on about 5,000 sq m; the only cold-storage record found.
  • NVD, Baldonnel: Autarco system at a vehicle logistics site with a promised 37% ROI and guaranteed output; 68 tonnes of CO2 a year.
  • Peter Hurley Warehousing, Ballinasloe: Snippet-only: 84 panels with a battery; about 11 tonnes of CO2 avoided.
  • Hyland Shipping: UrbanVolt case-study card: 56% of energy from solar, 24,900 kg CO2 a year; location not stated, confirm it is in Ireland.

What costs and savings have been published?

These are the figures the business or its installer gave. They have not been audited.

  • NVD, Baldonnel257 kW
    Share of use
    about 25%
    Payback
    3 years (installer promise)

    Source: Alternative Energy Ireland

  • Peter Hurley Warehousing, Ballinasloe37 kW
    Output
    about 30,481 kWh a year
    Payback
    2.2 years

    Source: Electric Skyline

  • Hyland Shipping35 kW
    Share of use
    56%

    Source: UrbanVolt

  • Lidl distribution centre, Newbridge
    Cost
    €1 million
    Share of use
    over 25%
    Output
    1,011,929 kWh a year

    Source: Leinster Leader

What is in the planning register?

The register has 24 applications for solar at this kind of premises, and 22 were granted. The named sites are below, largest first. "Granted" is permission to build. A scheme is shown as built only where a published report says so.

SiteCountySize applied forStatusPlanning record
National Vehicle Distribution, OGH BuildingDublin159 kWAwaiting decision2026, ref RED26A/0021W
EirfreezeDublinNot statedGranted2021, ref 2113/21
Musgrave MarketPlace, BallymunDublin3,238 m²Granted2023, ref 3568/23
Dixon TransportDublin470 m²Granted2018, ref F18A/0170
Kellihers ElectricalKerry150 m²Granted2021, ref 211311
An Post Carlow Delivery Service UnitLaois800 m²Granted2022, ref 22101
Foynes PortLimerick950 m²Granted2022, ref 22396

Where to go next

Common questions

Pricing a system for your business?

Get commercial solar quotes

Tell us about the building and an installer will price a system for it.

Step 1 of 3

Where are you at?